Sunday – Mouton Rouge and Mikkeller

As you may have gathered me and the husband have drank a few beers in the last weekend so with a place as popular as the Bottleshop, there not always going to have a supply of new/favourite beers that you like in, that are reasonably priced for casual drinking. Also he had asked quite a few times to get Rogue Yellow Snow in and they finally did. He was not the only one asking though.

Rogue Yellow Snow is a very nice IPA but since it comes from america you don’t get it very often and it is very subject to ‘wear and tear’ or oxidation as its usually called leading to a beer that has a very short shelf life if one at all. This can mean that your buying a beer that tastes bad but you won’t know it until you drink it, usually at home and then you have all the trouble of trying to return it/refund/some other form of recompense if you can even be bothered as its not like they can sell that bottle to somebody else. They are quite good at the Bottleshop when this happens but I’m not quite sure how Mouton Rouge handles it.

As to the taste of the beer apart from it being nice, its grapefruit, hoppy, bubbles, smooth, golden yellow with the smallest head. If your particular beer is not the freshest you may not get some or all of this. Best to get this one from New Port, Oregon, or America in general to properly appreciate it.

I got 3 other beers from Mouton Rouge, Time and Tide Calista IPA which is rotating similar to what Kernel do, but I think Kernel do it better. Sam was more impressed with this than I was. Harviestoun Wild Hop IPA which I can’t remember anything about but I didn’t have any as Sam drinks a lot quicker than I do, and Wild Beer Evolver. Wild Beer was a great disappointment and I think it must have been the Brett yeast I didn’t like. Sam didn’t like it much but then its not his style.

I also had Mikkeller I hardcore you which is a blend with Brewdog. Now I haven’t had either of the 2 beers that make up this separately but I have been informed that it rounds off there edges nicely and this is a nice beer so it must be true. The trouble with writing this on Wednesday is I’m struggling to remember all the little facets about it since I’ve only just rated it on ratebeer and my review was short and ill informed for any one reading it.

I also had the Mikkeller Coffee IPA which I have talked about in the previous post although not very much. It is an excellent beer that I thoroughly recommend you try. It has the right balance of IPA to coffee, it has very good quality coffee, it has oat flakes and malts to give it body but also to complement and act as a foil to the sharper more acidic coffee and Citra hop, its not heavy though and doesn’t have any distracting tastes that I sometimes get with black IPA’s. As you may have guessed this was my favourite of the night

The 2 Mikkellers were my favourite beers of my night but ironically they didn’t come from Mouton Rouge. So even though Mouton Rouge are cheaper and have different beers to the Bottle Shop there not always as good as well as less popular. So its the classic 6 of one and half a dozen of another as I get discount from Bottle Shop sometimes and this compensates me for more expensive pricing.

Leave a Reply

