Bestie time and the re-emergence of Weird Beard

My maid of honour from my wedding last year and one of my best friends came down to visit me this weekend so madness ensues pretty quickly. I went to the Freshers fair, food and drink festival, waitrose and City Space as already described then went home to await her arrival. Sam had been taking a regional sales manager out to lunch which had been made more difficult with the arrival of all the students as you need a classy, quiet place to conduct business but I think they finally got in to the Goods Shed to eat.

We decided to go to Tamago as it has nice Japanese food but as its too small we decided that we didn’t wish to wait and went to Supernoodles instead. They have a new menu with new food and drink. They also have a loyalty card now. I tried there bubble tea which is the nicest one I have had. It was a Honey Dew (melon) milk tea with Mango (juice) juicy balls which is not the usual semolina. They have big portions and since I was not feeling very hungry after the free Dominoes, coffee etc that I had during the day I had a quarter crispy duck and my husband had the original formation which is seaweed, prawn toast, spring rolls and spare ribs with sweet chilli and satay sauce but its not the usual kind. There quite authentic at Supernoodles and if you can’t eat all your meal you can take it away in a foam box costing 50 p. Its good value and its popular with students. Sam felt rather full so cancelled his Thai yellow curry which was fine but Shelley had Seaweed and Soft Shell crab which is quite nice when in season but a bit too salty out of season which is now due to the batter they use.

Then we went to the Bottle shop and Lucy was on. I had seen her at the Freshers Fair, signed up for the Real Ale and Cider Society to get 10% off but had not paid the membership fee yet so couldn’t get the discount yet. I was surprised that Lucy was on 2 days running and I apologised for my drunken behaviour the previous day. Other societies also get the discount like the History society but just signing up to receive email is not sufficient.

We got to talk to a girl called Laura who studies botany and was telling us about the properties of Lavender and Hops which was very interesting. She was with other guys that we see there quite a lot.

As to beers we had Tool Likeweisse which is a weisse style beer that I had cold and was possibly a mistake as initially it was just sour but the flavour profile developed as it got warmer and it was quite nice later. I also had Pressure Drop Wu Gang chops the tree which is a strange name for a beer and the bottle label has chinese willow pattern on it, in its characteristic blue. It really does taste like sausages as Drew said. It is a foraged herb hefeweisse and is unique in its tastes. Shelley liked it as well which is good as she is usually a Fosters drinker. I have tried to educate her over years and its gradually happening now she can afford to come down here after paying her car off.

At home I had a Black Isle Red Kite because I was still feeling up to drinking much and that’s a good reliable beer that is cheap and I like it. Sam had Weird Beard Hit the lights a mixed up IPA as he once again forgot that he doesn’t like that and I didn’t remind him of the fact. I did however say that they have Brooklyn Black Chocolate stout in again and in March as we were starting our journey it wasn’t very good but it might be different this batch. I’m not a fan of Brooklyn Brewery based on the the beers I have tried so far (lager, stout, saison) but there maybe one I like as they have quite a selection although it is quite expensive as Drew has been promoting them on Facebook. I will wait to see what Alex says about the Sorachi Ace as he took one home for his dad.

Shelley had the ever reliable Mariana Trench as Lucy was helping her choose and was going to have the Black Isle Blonde┬ábut had the Pressure Drop instead. I think the brew by numbers IPA 0507 motueka and pacific jade was hers too as I don’t like motueka. At home Sam had Weird Beard Fade to Black as he likes that to finish with a darker beer. He also had the Kernel Black IPA.

Leave a Reply

