Cafes of Canterbury

I have been to the oasis cafe recently which is run by St Andrews church. It’s open 10-2pm on Tuesday -Friday . It serves soup, sandwiches, desserts and drinks so typical snack/light lunch food. There is free wifi you just need to ask for the code and there are newspapers to read while your waiting. The soup I had was very nice.
The next place I have been to is the eatery on the third floor of fenwicks. It offers nice views over the city and free hot drink if you buy a cake but only a cake no pastries or scones etc included. There is carloccios on the first and second floors.
The third place was St pauls church hall which offers lunch on Wednesday. For £2.50 you get soup, roll and butter, water and afterwards you can have tea/coffee and cakes. I had leek and potato then some tomato and lentil. I had a choc covered rice crispy cake, a small slice of Victoria sponge and a mini cheesecake. I had a nice chat to some of the pastors there and looked at the church which was quite pretty. I got some more advice about where to go during the week as well.
The place I go to most often is city space which is run by the samaritans with help from some people from St Andrews church. I get tea/coffee and biscuits along with the opportunity to chat. Sometimes there is free wifi but it doesn’t get good phone reception. There are books/dvd to borrow as well as lots of craft materials if you feel that way inclined. Different people turn on different days and they even do dinner on Monday night if you stay until 7pm. The hours are 1-5pm Monday, Thursday – saturday.
I have been to tiny tim’s tea room and while it’s a bit pricey with slow service as it’s under staffed, you get nice food and drink. I think you can get discount if you have the my Canterbury app and show them at the till.
North gate cafe is a place that changes ownership a lot so when I went it wasn’t that good and I found it too sweet, it may be better.
The waitrose cafe is a place I have been to many times but now you have to buy something if you want to go there. You can use there wifi and read the newspapers though. You can however still get a free drink out of the self service machine.
I’ve been to the m and s cafe/kitchen in town and they have nice food and drink as you would expect.
I have been to the Starbucks at the cathedral although it’s no longer there, at sainsbury, at the hospital even though that’s only half of one and I have to Costa Coffee on the high St and café Nero.

Leave a Reply

